I’m Back

Kevin Rothermel wisely noted that “planning jobs kill planning blogs” sometime last year when I was bemoaning the fact that that I was too mentally exhausted from work to do anything but watch TV and drool. Apparently, not much has changed since then.

For those who know me personally, I’ve been cutting my teeth at work trying to figure out how to out cool Apple and resurrect a dying consumer habit. It’s one of the hardest problems I’ve ever encountered. It makes me feel like I was just messing around during ad school. Now I find myself intellectually hobbled. Sure, I can turn a quick brief, but I can’t speak to a higher conceptual purpose in my work.

In the past few weeks, I had an epiphany and realized that I have too many opportunities that I could potentially blow by letting my brain wither away. I’ve decided for myself to go “back to the basics” to refocus and re-energize myself to not only do better at work, but also ensure that I grow as a thinker.

That’s why I’m back.

Blogging was just an exercise for me to compose my thoughts and over indulge in the gratuitous thinking that would give me a perspective on things – especially technology and media which is why I have my job in the first place. Back to basics. Back to the things that made me interesting and sharp.

3 responses to “I’m Back”

  1. kevin r says :

    Welcome back. Looking forward to it.

  2. girlgeum says :

    So we have to go back to move forward?

Leave a Reply

