Holidays

I was rummaging through some old school stuff and I found a paper where I mentioned that the “commodification” of culture leads to the loss of its symbolic value. It’s a fairly generic thing to argue for, but it makes me wonder about Christmas and if it has just become a secular holiday and what the implications are.

Does this dilute the holiday for Christians who are celebrating the birthday of Jesus? Or does it empower them through the fact that everyone is unknowingly celebrating it?

Actually, do holidays in general mean anything anymore? Maybe I’m cynical, but the only reason why I get excited over holidays is because I get the day off. Also, it seems like holidays in general have become reasons to go shopping as well- with all the sales that go on. Hm…back to “commodification” again huh?

Leave a Reply

