Simulcasting Again

On my way to school today, some guy saw me, stopped in his tracks and busted some kung fu moves before continuing on his way. Like all the other incidents, I’m sure it was rooted in good old fun (until I start doing it to other people myself).

But, this reminded my of the simulcasting assignment I did a couple weeks ago. I ended up including Chinese on there, though I didn’t really want to because I don’t walk around thinking and saying I’m Chinese. Rather, it usually takes someone reminding me – sometimes with a dramatic interpretation.

The point is, the simulcasting assignment was about learning to define the multiple personalities and roles that people create for themselves. However, we’re forgetting that society creates personalities and roles for people by way of stereotypes and I think it would be just as important to consider those “anti-personalities” into the simulcasting mix.

2 responses to “Simulcasting Again”

  1. sophia says :

    Society does create personalities for us in the sense where we’re told what is normal and acceptable versus what is considered abnormal. Then you have the people who are considered social outcasts or those anti-personalities. Are they truly different or are they trying to be different against what society considers norm? I don’t believe that people create their own personalities. Most people generally do not have a mind of their own. I’m no different. It’s the common beliefs between people and society that create these personalities. Those thinking that by rejecting themselves from the normalities are still conforming to something… “conforming to non-comformity”. There is not one single person who truly is different from everyone else. There are multiple personalities attempting to be single and complex personalities. In the process, they find that others are attempting reach the same goal which goes to show that society creates you. Society creates you to be their definition of normal or it creates you to believe you are different when really, we’re all the same.

  2. nien says :

    Sophia,

    I think you bring up an interesting point and I’m not sure how to talk about it.

    I think it’s true – we are more or less very similar to the people around us. If we weren’t, we’d be an even more dysfunctional society. I also tend to think that we are composed of pieces that come from the same box; it’s just how each of us decided to put it together that makes us somewhat unique. It’s like those myspace profiles, technically, they are all unique in that people can personalize them, however, the foundation of those pages (the blog thing, the friends list, the favorites thing) are still in there.

    On the other hand, I think this is a case of where perspectives don’t align with the major players. In marketing, companies are starting to realize that people aren’t the same and they’ve started to segment their products and position each one directly to a different segment. Also another trend in product development is customization or mass customization. I think advertising carries a lot of cultural capital, and if they start treating people like individuals, I would think that people would start thinking like individuals.

    But maybe that’s the whole scam- that companies will segment the population but still tie them back into their brand, so that they have individual reasons to be the same. Hm…interesting.

Leave a Reply

